Kings and Suffragettes

I’ve spent the last few weeks writing short fiction, which is a complete change of gear for me. The BBC commissioned me to write a story about the Census for March. For this I wrote a story about some Suffragettes in 1911. The Sunday Mail, a newspaper in Scotland, asked me for a festive story for their Boxing Day edition. I suggested a contemporary and a historical story and they went for the latter. And so after much panic – the kids were off school because of the snow – I wrote a story set in the Spanish Civil War around Christmas 1936. I will post it when it becomes available.

My other news is that I’m going to be working at the Tramway, an arts venue in Glasgow, from Jan, for one day a week on a really exciting new project. Will post more soon.

Happy Christmas!

This entry was published on December 15, 2010 at 9:25 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Kings and Suffragettes

  1. Elizabeth on said:

    I’ve just found your website and feel inspired! I am looking forward to reading your Spanish Civil War story as I am teaching that subject at the moment and would love to find out more.

  2. Hi Elizabeth. Thanks for posting. I am about half way through the Spanish novel. It is about a schoolteacher from Edinburgh who falls for a Glaswegian communist and how they both end up in Spain. It is currently name-less. I am fascinated by the whole period and love researching and writing about it.

    I knew it would take me a while to write so I am also writing a book for boys called The Pirate’s Boy which is almost finished. Today I write the final few scenes. Better get to work, Bea x

Leave a Reply

