Nearly there . . .

I promised myself I’d finish my pirate book by the end of January and I may just make it. Of course there’s a load of other things that have just cropped up: my tax return, taking part in Pecha Kucha where I have decided to tell a story with 20 images in 6 minutes, my new one day a week job at the Tramway, plus the Poles putting up the shower. But, fingers crossed, I’ll do it.

Endings are always impossible though – all those loose ends and characters I introduced then forgot about – they all need closure. I’m going to teach a class on it next week. What can I say apart from that it’s like winning at a game of patience. Sometimes it works out, sometimes it doesn’t. ¬†Hopefully, though, next time I’ll have enough time and enough editing skills to fix it.

Right now, though, I just want to finish the book. I’m in Jamaica in the Blue Mountains and today we head to Kingston. But how and why? Right now I have no idea. About ten thousand words to go. Enough space for a dramatic ending? I think so.

This entry was published on January 21, 2011 at 9:11 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

